close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Audiovisual Coding

Registration now closed

Audiovisual Coding

with Carl Testa and guest Roxanne Harris

2022-03-17 18:00:00 2022-03-17 19:45:00 America/New_York Audiovisual Coding Join electronic musicians Carl Testa and Roxanne Harris as they introduce participants to the free, open-source live coding synth Sonic Pi. Ives Main Library - Ives Squared

Thursday, March 17
6:00pm - 7:45pm

Add to Calendar 2022-03-17 18:00:00 2022-03-17 19:45:00 America/New_York Audiovisual Coding Join electronic musicians Carl Testa and Roxanne Harris as they introduce participants to the free, open-source live coding synth Sonic Pi. Ives Main Library - Ives Squared

Ives Main Library

Ives Squared

Join electronic musicians Carl Testa and Roxanne Harris as they introduce participants to the free, open-source live coding synth Sonic Pi.

Sonic Pi is a code-based music creation and performance tool that anyone can learn to use to create their own music. Roxanne and Carl will lead participants through using the software and learning how to code their own beats, melodies, and change them on the fly to create expressive musical performances.

Sonic Pi will be installed on the computers in Ives Squared but if you bring your own computer please install the free software ahead of time. Download the free software at https://sonic-pi.net

More Information about Carl Testa here: http://carltesta.net and Roxanne Harris here: https://linktr.ee/alsoknownasrox

Ives Main Library

Phone: 203-946-8130

Hours
Mon, Sep 26 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Sep 27 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Sep 28 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Sep 29 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Sep 30 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Oct 01 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Oct 02 Closed

About the branch

The Ives Main Library, designed by renowned architect, Cass Gilbert in 1911, is a cornerstone of the historic New Haven Green. The facility is a community treasure and features unique design details, including several WPA-era murals. Ives is open 54 hours a week, Monday-Saturday, and houses major public service departments for children and teens as well as adult reference, a computer tech center and Ives Squared, a newly renovated space for innovation and entrepreneurship.

Upcoming events

Fri, Sep 30, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Teen Center

Sat, Oct 01, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Community Program Room

Sat, Oct 01, 11:00am - 11:30am
Children's Program Room

Mon, Oct 03, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Ives Cafe Patio

Mon, Oct 03, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Teen Center

Tue, Oct 04, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Teen Center

Wed, Oct 05, 11:00am - 11:30am
Ives Cafe Patio

Wed, Oct 05, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Children's Program Room

Wed, Oct 05, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Teen Center

Wed, Oct 05, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Tinker Lab

Thu, Oct 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Oct 07, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Teen Center

Tue, Oct 11, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Teen Center

Wed, Oct 12, 11:00am - 11:30am
Ives Cafe Patio

Wed, Oct 12, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Children's Program Room

Thu, Oct 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Oct 13, 5:30pm - 7:30pm
Philip Marett Seminar Room

Fri, Oct 14, 12:00pm - 8:00pm
Community Program Room

Fri, Oct 14, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Teen Center